“Doctor What” – What It Is And Why It Needs Your Help!

Since I review a lot of science fiction, it almost seems a crime not to review anything related to the long-running British TV series Doctor Who.  But here’s the thing: there is so damn much of that program–including novels and one movie spinoff–that it’d be hard for me to capture all or any of it in a single article.

Nonetheless, I do love the newer series and try to watch when I can (which I admit is not as often as I’d like).  But what I can do is give Doctor Who fans something to get interested in.

Image courtesy of Doctor What Tumblr page.

One of my friends from college is an aspiring filmmaker named Alex Hluch (the gent pictured above), who is currently hard at work on his MFA thesis at the University of Central Florida.  And being a giant Doctor Who fan, his pet project is nothing less than a live-action spinoff web series called Doctor What.

The premise is basically, what if there was more than one Time Lord running around on Earth?  One who wasn’t nearly as heroic or selfless as the Doctor we all know and love?  Enter Doctor What, a story of one Time Lord’s quest to escape his exile to a planet full of stupid apes and go on a rather bizarre set of adventures with his companions.

Having gotten a better sense of the story from the Good Mr. Hluch, I can honestly say that I think this is going to be a fun and interesting series.  It has the feel of a Doctor Who series while also taking its own black comedic approach to the show’s mythology.

To get a sense of what I mean, I’ve included the link to the trailer for the series below.  You can also donate to the project on IndieGoGo and learn more about it on Facebook and Tumblr.  And if you feel you might be interested in this project and want to share it with others, I’d be ever so grateful if you could, say, share this post with your friends and acquaintances (provided they’re as geeky as Alex and I are).

Leave a Reply

