Flash Fiction: “Love After Death”

After almost a year, here’s a new Flash Fiction story. This is actually a short tale I wrote out by hands years ago and I figured it was good enough to share with all of you.

Enjoy.


Love After Death, by Alexander Paul Willging

Word Count: 474

“So what you’re saying is I’m a zombie.”

“No, you’re a revenant.”

“What’s the difference?”

Hal pressed his fingertips together. She remembered that he did that whenever he had to explain something. It made him look like one of her old professors from college.

“A zombie,” he said slowly, “is just a reanimated corpse. It has no free will, no real personality. A revenant, on the other hand, has the original personality and exists only to take revenge for an unjust murder. You were unjustly murdered, ergo you’re a revenant.”

Ciara frowned. “So, by that logic, you brought me back just for revenge? And you expected me to be happy about it?”

“Er…” Hal rubbed at the back of his neck. “No, I was expecting you to be, well, angry. About your murder, I mean.”

“Oh, really?” She took a step toward him, her hands slowly curling into fists. “Because right now? I’m feeling particularly angry with you.”

“Listen, it… it’s going to be all right—”

“No, it isn’t!” The howl from Ciara’s mouth was strong enough to quench the flames on every candle, shrouding the room in total darkness. “I thought you brought me back because you missed me, Hal! Because you loved me! But it’s all about you, isn’t it? It was always about you and your magic and your revenge!”

“I want revenge for what he did to you!”

“Then why didn’t you stop him before? Why bother now?”

“There wasn’t time—”

“That’s what you said when I asked you to come down to the lake with me last year.”

“I was studying the Occult!”

“And yet you know nothing about relationships!”

“Well…” Hal waved irritably at the air. “You’re right about that! But I can learn now that you’re here! Once we’ve tracked down Eric—”

Ciara raised a hand, silencing him. “But you said a revenant only lives for revenge. Once that’s done, I’ll be gone again, won’t I?”

The young mage stared back. After an uncomfortable pause, he said, “…Maybe not?”

“That’s all I needed to hear.” Ciara turned and went toward the door, nearly tripping over a stack of grimoires on her way out.

“Ciara, wait. You can’t just leave!”

“Watch me.” She tested the doorknob, but it come right off with a simple twist. Rolling her eyes, Ciara lifted her left foot and gave the door such a kick that it broke off its hinges and fell onto the floor of the next room.

Pleased with her newfound strength, she ignored the rest of Hal’s pleas and marched down the corridor toward the stairwell. While she understood what Hal was trying to do, she also knew that he couldn’t help taking the most complicated path toward his goal.

And as far as Ciara was concerned, if you wanted something done right, you had to do it yourself.


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

