My Top 10 Favorite Theme Songs

I love music, especially when I’m working. Even while writing this very blog post, I’ve got a tab to my YouTube music playlist open. But there are some songs more than others that get me excited, especially when it comes to theme songs chosen to exemplify a particular TV show, movie, or video game.

So here are my top 10 favorite theme songs of all time.

Note: Because the links to these videos are based on YouTube, it’s entirely possible that some of these links won’t be working by the time you read this article. If so, I highly recommend you try to look them up on YouTube from other channels, as well as through online marketplaces like iTunes and Amazon.

10. “Opening Theme” by W.G. Snuffy Walden (The West Wing)

9. “Opening Titles” by David Arnold and Michael Price (Sherlock)

8. “Tank!” by The Seatbelts (Cowboy Bebop)

7. “Main Theme” by John Williams (Star Wars)

6. “Opening Theme” by Kevin Manthei (Invader Zim)

5. “Battlecry” by Nujabes (Samurai Champloo)

4. “Inner Universe” and “Rise” by Origa (Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex and S.A.C. 2nd GIG)

3. “Opening Theme” by Murray Gold (Doctor Who)

2. “Made Me Realize” by Brad Breeck (Gravity Falls)

1. “Extreme Ways” by Moby (The Bourne Trilogy)

Some of you may disagree with my ranking, but I’m not talking about which is objectively better. All I’m saying is that these songs are the ones that get my blood pumping fast. The ones where I don’t just hear a snippet, but have to sit and listen to the entire track.

So, have you got one or two favorite theme songs of your own? Please don’t hesitate to share them in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

