Top 5 Things I Enjoyed About the Star Wars Prequels

Yes, you read that title correctly.

Even after coming up with new ways to alter the prequel trilogy (and trying to rewrite each movie entirely), I have to admit that there are one or two things that George Lucas and Company still got right. For me, anyway. Your mileage may vary.

5. Count Dooku’s Solar Sailer

Copyright © 2002 by Lucasfilm Ltd.
Copyright © 2002 by Lucasfilm Ltd.

From: Episode II: Attack of the Clones

Why I Like It: There’s something ethereal and elegant about the design of this ship, which fits Count Dooku’s whole style. But the whole cool thing is that solar sails are a real-life concept in space exploration and I love the science behind them. It’s too bad that such an awesome starship concept got reduced to a throwaway CGI effect in this one movie.

4. Kamino

Copyright © 2002 by Lucasfilm Ltd.
Copyright © 2002 by Lucasfilm Ltd.

From: Episode II: Attack of the Clones

Why I Like It: Like most science fiction, Star Wars has always been big on single-biome worlds like Tatooine and Hoth, but they don’t compare to the living contrast of Kamino. This planet is full of grim, stormy skies over an endless ocean, with buildings that have a cool stark white interior. Not to mention the fact that Obi-Wan and Jango Fett have a pretty solid fight in the rain on this planet.

3. The Great Jedi Purge

Copyright © 2005 by Lucasfilm Ltd.
Copyright © 2005 by Lucasfilm Ltd.

From: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

Why I Like It: We always knew from Obi-Wan’s words in A New Hope that the downfall of the Jedi Knights was a tragic episode in the galaxy’s history and for the most part, what we saw in theaters lived up to that reputation. In one well-rendered sequence, we see dozens of Jedi fall to the dispassionate efficiency of their own clone troopers. Not only do we see the end of an august era of Knighthood, but we also see these soldiers turn into the dreaded Imperial Stormtroopers in a single moment.

2. Darth Maul’s Lightsaber Duel

Copyright © 1999 by Lucasfilm Ltd.
Copyright © 1999 by Lucasfilm Ltd.

From: Episode I: The Phantom Menace

Why I Like It: While more effort was put into the choreography and range of the lightsaber duels for Revenge of the Sith, I still think that the whole saga’s lightsaber duels peaked with the threeway duel between Obi-Wan, Qui-Gon, and Darth Maul. Besides the fast tempo of the duel set to a memorable orchestral score, this duel feels like an evolution of the fights between Luke and Vader in the original trilogy. No CGI needed (other than the backdrop for the fight). Just a few actors and some very fast, fluid swordplay.

1. The Birth of Darth Vader

Copyright © 2005 Lucasfilm Ltd.
Copyright © 2005 Lucasfilm Ltd.

From: Episode III: Revenge of the Sith

Why I Like It: As much as some of us came to the prequels to see how Anakin Skywalker fell to the dark side and the Republic became the Empire, it was the actual moment where Vader was born that most fans and audiences were waiting for. Yes, we’ve made countless memes out of Vader’s anguished “Nooo!”, but it’s hard to deny that the actual process of seeing a broken man undergoing surgery and being put into the iconic suit and helmet is remarkable. It’s one of the few moments in the whole trilogy where Lucas really came through as a filmmaker in my opinion, where both the CGI, the pacing, and even the acting came together.


That concludes my short bit about what I enjoyed most about the prequels. God willing, I won’t have to talk about them as much ever again. I’d much rather focus on the bright future of the Star Wars saga, especially once Episode VII: The Force Awakens hits theaters.

If you’d like to share your own favorite bits of the prequel trilogy, or just defend the whole series, feel free to do so in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Things I Enjoyed About the Star Wars Prequels

  1. First thing to come to my mind is the great underwater setting of Naboo. Yes, there were the dreaded Gungans, but I even liked their glowing city; and the whole big fish is eaten by even bigger fish sequence was great. For me, it held the same kind of wonder as the space slug did in TESB.
    As for the rest, it’s been a long time since I actually saw Ep1-3, but I think I liked Aurra Sing and Zam Wesell as characters. And many of the details were really fantastic (let’s say … Naboo costumes, for example). Just not the whole thing, meh.
    I mostly agree with your list, too. Just not sure about the fall of the Jedi. The scenes sure were impressive and sent a chill down my back. But story-wise, I dunno … I guess I expected something else up in front of these events, so they lost some of their poigancy due to the not so impressive stuff leading up to them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

